Book Cover Design

Discussion in 'Indie Writing, Publishing & Marketing Discussion' started by fairieswriter, Jan 14, 2012.

1. fairieswriter

fairieswriter New Member

As an indie publisher, I spent a LOT of time on my book cover. I did it all myself...from taking the photographs to creating my own font for the title. I'd love to hear what other people did. Personally, I have a hands up since I'm also an artist. I was a multi-media illustrator in the US Army and graduated from SJSU with a BA in Art. I did a post about how I made the cover on my blog here: How I Made My Cover if you are interested.

Here's a picture of the final product:

[​IMG]

2. Sheila Hollinghead

Sheila Hollinghead New Member

[​IMG] This is my cover. I used Photoscape to do the front and back. I bought a set of fonts and purchased two pictures, the blue jay and the lightning. I took the picture of my granddaughter and my son put the blue jay and my granddaughter's picture together for me. I have to say I love it--perhaps because it's my granddaughter. I used the cover creator at Createspace.

My nonfiction book was also made with the cover creator. My son took the picture at Cypress Springs in Florida. I used just the one picture and just added the title and the scripture on the back. I added a bit of semi-transparent white behind the scripture to allow it to show up better.
    [​IMG]

MaryCFindley likes this.
  3. fairieswriter

fairieswriter New Member

Nice! The cypress is really different looking. I like it.

4. RebeccaPMinor

RebeccaPMinor New Member