Hello! Newbie Author Seeks Reasonable Expectations!

Discussion in 'Meets & Greets' started by sbolton, Jul 17, 2013.

1. sbolton

sbolton New Member

Hi everyone! My name is Shelly, and although I've been writing for several years (mostly ghost-writing), and have been working as an editor for a couple of years as well, I have only recently even made the attempt at a book. It is about fibromyalgia, which I myself struggle with. The idea was simply that I found lots of info online, but it was so scattered and much of it so technical or clinical in nature, I just found it to be largely inaccessible to the general public. The other side was that as I found and began to understand information on this, I more and more realized I was not just a freak, and that there were others who were experiencing some of the same insane symptoms. So I began to feel that I wanted to try and make some of the clinical and scattered research more accessible to more people, as well as describing symptoms and feelings in such a way that helped other "fibromites" feel that they weren't alone and feel kind of validated while also helping those on the outside looking in, such as friends and family, to better understand what their loved one is going through. So my book is a combination of descriptions of the symptoms that compare them to other sensations that everyone can relate to (to put it in perspective), some explanation of terminology and such, and little "sidebars" containing bits and pieces of my own story. The last half of the book also contains personal stories from 5 fellow "fibromites" who generously agreed to share. So glad to find a place where I can learn from people who have more experience at this than myself.
    With that being said, I would like to find out if my expectations are all off...