Lizzy: Alice In Wonderland Meets Clive Barker.

Discussion in 'Plugs, Promotion, & Success Stories' started by MuskyFox, Jul 9, 2014.

1. MuskyFox

MuskyFox New Member

Hey guys!

First off, allow me to introduce myself; My name is Casey Chaplin, and like many of you, I'm a writer and creator of... well, stuff. Last spring I was able to publish my first book called Lizzy, which I'll discuss more in depth in a moment. Besides that, I've had a few poems published in various magazines, my first being when I was 18 years old.

I love horror, which is obvious - but oddly enough, I'm a fan of comedy too. Who says murder, blood, carnage, and mayhem can't be funny? Right...righ...Nevermind. :)

Onto why I'm here: Lizzy. Lizzy is my first full length novel, and it's a self published piece. I chose to self publish rather than submit it to agents or publishers was for a very simple reason: I suffer from what many creators suffer - a lack of self confidence in my own work. So, now that my blatant fear of shortcomings is out of the way, I'll tell you a little bit about my book. Maybe you'll find it interesting.

Lizzy is a 12 year old girl living in Chicago, and while many 12 year old's are playing with friends, thinking about boys and their dream weddings, Lizzy simply is not. No, far from it. There's something wrong with her, and sadly nobody sees it until it's too late. Through a series of very unfortunate events, mixed with Lizzy's potential unstable nature, Lizzy is told she must harvest the souls of those who are closest to her. Whom is it that tells her such things? What person would implore a girl so young to commit such heinous acts? Well, his name is Gerard, and he is a vile, vile being.

Through the words of Gerard, Lizzy believes her actions are just - but how could they be in the end? Is revenge really the answer, or does an eye for an eye leave the whole world blind?